Motorcycle Forum banner
1 - 20 of 31 Posts

· Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys, I’m new to motorcycles and want to here opinions on a bike I’m thinking of buying, it’s a project bike, I’ve wanted to build a bobber for a while and I found a Yamaha XS1100 bobber project that I’m very interested in, I’m working on a limited budget and am looking for advice on if this could be a good buy or not. I’m weary of the “engine runs but bike needs fuel lines and some other tlc” does anybody have any tips for when I go to check out the bike to help me make and informed decision and how to tell if the bike is mechanically sound? I’m not completely dumb to mechanical work but I’m not super knowledgeable either.

Attachments

· Registered
55 Posts
I agree with your concerns. As a new rider, you probably don't want to be dealing with mechanical issues before you know what feels normal, and you want to focus on riding more than wrenching. Also, that bike isn't what most folks consider the ideal beginner bike.
I'd recommend looking around for a smaller displacement bike in completely working condition.

· Premium Member
8,511 Posts
If you are not mechanically inclined I would pass on it.
The motors are good, the handling not so good but acceptable. I do not get the bobber concept, and that might make the handling worse.
There are lots of used bits in the dead bike yards, and new bits available. No one makes exhaust systems anymore.

Old bikes will amaze you with the variety of things that can fail. But as above, if you can fix stuff, you might be fine.
I just rode one home from darts night at the golf club. Nice to notice I changed the head light a while back, for a much brighter unit.

UK

· Ace Tuner
4,160 Posts
Just needs a battery???

Lots if guys have brought bikes in they bought that only needs a battery.
Few if any only needed only a battery. Could happen but... Most of the time they needed much more than a battery.