Motorcycle Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

· Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hello everyone newbie here! Been out of the motorcycle community for a long time but I have a question for you all. My first bike was a 1983 Magna V45. I loved that bike and the Magnas in general. I have been looking to buy another bike but my brother says to go newer and stay away from the carbureted bikes. He thinks that I should stay with the injected variety. But I love the stance and style of the old Magnas (looking at a V65) I also like the style of the 03 - 07 Shadows as well. Are parts available for the older bikes? Are there still mechanics that are able to do major work on the older Magnas? I want to stay with 1100cc and up in size. It seems that the Magnas are a little smaller than the Shadows. Are they both comparable in size when a passenger is riding (comfort for passenger)? How about reliability?
What are your opinions on my choices? Go old school or stay with the newer bikes?

Thanks guys!!

· Ace Tuner
4,927 Posts
"Are parts available for the older bikes?"
No, but Honda does seem to offer parts longer than the other guys.

"Are there still mechanics that are able to do major work on the older Magnas?"
No, only because an experienced mechanic will know unavailability of parts could kill the job.

"Go old school or stay with the newer bikes?"
Stay with the newer bikes.

· Registered
537 Posts
Older parts are hard to find to keep a bike running as a real driver. Its another matter if you are just wanting to restore a garage queen...

My 2005 Honda 1300 VTX has a carb. They don't scare me, but I have taken more than a couple apart.

I think the advantage a newer carb bike has over a newer EFI is price. Most people want EFI, so you can often pick up a good deal on a carb bike.

The shadows are really good bikes, I don't see how you could go wrong there. I see a lot of them at very good prices on the used market.