Motorcycle Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Premium Member
10,603 Posts
The guy at the parts desk at the bike shop I was in last Saturday. After telling me he had been to a few track days, and was getting better, went on to explain there were two older guys who could leave him in the dust. He gave me the first name of a guy over 60, and said the other local guy was like 80 something. 77 I told him. How do you know who I am talking about he asked?

I told him track days are one thing, but actually racing against the guy he was talking about, was another thing. Not sure if he believed me or not. My name was correct. Good friend and competitor since about 1970.

Back to the OT. Agreed. Riding does breath a little life in to the system.

UK

·
Registered
781 Posts
Has somebody been spying on me?

Like a lot of um, seasoned riders, I never had a motorcycle endorsement. Didn't need one when I started riding. When it finally became a law, I was 'grandfathered' in. Then I moved to a new State and started driving professionally. My bike riding was limited and the local cops didn't really care if you had an endorsement or not. Once I retired, I started riding again...a lot! I needed an endorsement so I wouldn't go to jail and have my bike impounded. I jumped thru all the hoops and passed with flying colors. The Lady at the DMV, after passing me, wanted to know why, after 40 years of driving a truck, I wanted to now go out and kill myself on a bike.

'How old are you?' She said.

'72'. Said I

'And you want to start riding a bike now? You're going to kill yourself.'

'Mam', said I, 'I've been riding since I was 12 and built my first mini bike. I'll be fine.'

She grudgingly printed out my temp, and handed it to me. 'Good luck,' She said with a frown.