Motorcycle Forum banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

· Registered
125 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I know this is a street bike forum but I have a dirt bike that isn’t running right. It seems to stall regardless of the choke position when you start it. It idles really high. I am no mechanic. I paid to have the carb cleaned and that didn’t do it. The mechanic said it’s because there’s old gas in the tank. I don’t think that’s it. What could be weong?

· Administrator - American Legion Rider - KA5LRS
28,710 Posts
The guys might need the year too Mils to see whether rubber parts might be breaking down and leaking. When was the last time you cleaned or changed the air filter? Might want to just put a new one in anyway being a dirt bike which is subject to a lot of dust. That will take that potential problem out of the picture.

· Registered
125 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
It’s a 2018. It was purchased used. I never would have bought it. It just happened that I was supposed go and see it on a certain day and something came up, so I sent my brother, who has zero common sense. I would not have bought it because it was not in the condition described. The guy who came to look at it last night and wouldn’t buy it and said that a part of the engine looked like it had been glued back together on top of the other issues. I don’t know how to do my own work and I can’t put any more money out on this thing. How hard is it to change the filter? What tools would i need? I also don’t want to keep putting money into this thing.

· Premium Member
2,099 Posts
How do I adjust the idle?
That information can be found in the owners manual. Your Honda dealer would be able to get a copy of the owners manual. They would probably have to order it, it may take a week. I believe they're supposed to supply them for x amount of years for free, even if you are not the original owner.