Motorcycle Forum banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I posted this (more or less) on the New Member Introduction board already. So here it is again more specific to the current issue (not the only issue) i'm working on.
___

My name is Thomas.
I'm in my early 30's with light mechanical experience but a capacity for learning and figuring (and sometimes breaking but hopefully fixing too).
I'm in the NY/NJ area.
I currently own, but haven't been riding, a 1983 Honda CB650. It has been customized by the previous owner so it has a swapped tank, a new seat and is generally blacked out. No side covers, etc. All gauges and indicators are removed except for the speedometer so there's some dead end wiring.

The bike was having some charging issues when i got it home. A mechanic had checked it before purchase and showed proper charging voltage on his multimeter (static and revved etc), but when i started riding it, the battery would be drained after an hour or so. I originally thought i was just stalling a lot and asking the battery to crank more than i was giving it a chance to charge. Bought a new sealed battery and got better at NOT stalling but still ended up with a dead battery after 45-60 minutes. I had picked up a pocket jumper and that would get me started but i'd need it EVERY time i got stuck. 5 jumps to get home and almost ran out of juice in the jumper.

My carbs were leaky and clearly in need of attention so i decided to do that rebuild first as my multimeter wasn't with me to test the charging system. Got through it successfully (i felt) and reinstalled the carbs (so much fun...).