Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi Amigos,

I have a 1992 Honda Nighthawk 750 I bought used a few months ago. This afternoon when I got ready to ride home, I did everything (lifted kickstand, turned on fuel, turned key in ignition, put bike into neutral and clicked engine switch to "run") then hit the starter button. There was a small click and everything went dead. The oil pressure and neutral lights, formerly illuminated, blanked out. There was not a hint of any activity from the starter. This is not a battery problem; the battery has been strong and there was absolutely nothing turning over in the least. I'm guessing a fuse? Any suggestions would be appreciated. I'm still a newbie at this.

Here's another confusing detail. After wiggling the key and putting the kickstand up and down a few time, the oil and neutral lights illuminated again when I turned the key, indicating the bike was ready to start and getting juice. But then when I hit the starter button, again everything went dead.

Now I can't get any electrical signs of life at all.

If it's a fuse could it just be loose? Should I buy a new fuse to test the theory or are there several fuses where I could just switch them around, putting one into the slot for the main fuse, which is presumably the one on the fritz?

Gracias for your wisdom and advice.

Gary

·
Member Map
23,911 Posts
The battery was good a few months ago? A lot can change in that amount of time, or even overnight. Don't discount the most likely suspect.

I'm guessing it isn't a blown fuse, since electricity can't flow through them once they pop. Once they are tripped, they are done. I suppose a loose or corroded main fuse could cause this.

Top off the battery on your maintainer at 1-2 amps and test it for voltage and load before tearing into anything else.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks but ...