Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
86 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all,

My name is Chris and I'm from the Houston, TX area. I just started riding this year, but I've been interested in riding for about 7 years now. Back then I didn't have the cash and my wife was fanatically against it. She finally gave in some months ago.

I've just completed my MSF course and got my endorsement on my license for it. I'm now in the process of figuring out what I want. I've had some practice on my dad's Wide Glide, admittedly not a whole lot and never in any real situation.

But for sure I'm getting one before Christmas. Talking to some riders around here they say its possible to keep on riding throughout our 'winter' months sometimes, given the right gear. Plus I hear you get better deals in the winter.

·
Shaper Of All Things Metal
2,799 Posts
If the riding continues all year round in your area, the 'winter' deals may not be as good as farther North, but hopefully you'll find just what you want at the right price in the next month.

And....

·
Female Rider
9,311 Posts
Welcome to the Forum. Glad to hear you took the BRC. It's a great place to start learning some basics. Good Luck in your search for a bike.

·
American Legion Rider
23,769 Posts
I'm pretty far north of you but manage to ride all year except for 2 to 4 weeks depending on how brutal a winter folks north have that leaves us with snown or ice to deal with. Not bad but I do sometimes wish I'd settled a little farther south some times. But electric riding gear is the ticket.:)

·
Retired twice: Navy and as a govt contractor
14,420 Posts

·
Visionary
4,664 Posts