Motorcycle Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I'm not "new" to riding, but after a wreck in 2003 that broke my leg I didn't buy a new bike. Now that my kids are 14/15 I'm getting back into it.

I recently bought an 83 Nighthawk 550 that only needed a bit of work to get running right again. Low miles, pretty great condition.

Main thing the seller said was wrong with it, was it not firing on Cylinder 1. I found a short in the cable and replaced that as well as replacing both ignition coils.

The carbs were acting up, so I pulled them off and cleaned them.. but then it was worse. So I had to pull them off again... unfortunately I then had to drill out a couple screws and I'm waiting on replacements.

I'm brand new to mechanic work on bikes, and barely done any on large or small engines before now. It's fun... but I wish I'd held out and got a newer bike I could just hop on and ride. It's been 2 months now and its killing me looking at the bike in the driveway.

Anyway, Hope for great support and new friends here! Please take care of me.

EDIT: Also... is there a reason I can't reply to any threads or add a signature? I haven't participated yet because I literally can't...

·
American Legion Rider
25,916 Posts
WELCOME ABOARD, and...

As to you last question you might like to read.

This.

And this.

I think you'll find the answer there.

·
Registered
1,285 Posts
Also... is there a reason I can't reply to any threads or add a signature? I haven't participated yet because I literally can't...
Welcome! You have to have a certain number of posts before the site allows certain actions.

I've had my bike down a few times while waiting on a part or working on an issue and know it isn't fun. Good luck and would love to see some pics of what you are doing as well as what she looks like all put together!

·
Registered
2005 Suzuki C90T
669 Posts