Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to riding and want to buy my first bike. I want something sporty but at 6,4 i dont fit well on most 250's. Recommend me a bike! Thanks!

·
Gone
23,907 Posts
Taller riders generally fit well on the dual sport or adventure-style motorcycles.

Most sport-styled motorcycles may be cramped for a tall rider.

·
Registered
144 Posts
I second that. Kawasaki, Suzuki, Honda, and BMW all make adventure/enduro style bikes. These have taller seats (32-34 inches), an upright riding position, and ride great both on and off road. I'm 5'10 and these fit me fine.

·
Registered
16 Posts
I'm 6'7.. learned on a 250 Kawasaki before moving up to a bigger bike. The dual sport adventure bikes were the best fitting for me when learning. Screamed like a bat out of hell on the highway getting up to speed.

The bike had been lifted which helped, but for me with size 16 feet, it was working the foot controls that was always been cumbersome. I can stretch out nicely on my cruiser now and its heaven.

·
Registered
677 Posts
As far as dual sports, the Kawi KLR 650 has a tall seat. Check out the Suzuki V-Strom 650 perhaps. Your best bet is to just go check em out in person. cycle-ergo.com is fun to play with...

·
Registered
75 Posts
cycle-ergo.com is fun to play with...
This is true, but it's especially good once you've sat on a few bikes/ridden some. That will let you translate what you see on cycle-ergo to your own personal experience, so the numbers and images on there will make more sense to you.

Have you taken your MSF course yet? That might also help you get a sense of what you want.

·
Registered
11 Posts
I'm 6 ft 3 250, and ride a Yamaha Roadstar 1700 cc....its a 2004 and bought it on Ebay last Spring. It's heavy but wow, the fit is nice dude, very comfortable.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #9