Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys, so I'm new to all this and figured you'd be a great starting resource. I'm looking for a bike to go on cross country trips with that will get pretty good fuel economy. I was looking to get a Honda Rebel because it gets great mpgs and I like the retro look, but after doing a bit of research, I realized it probably wouldn't work for me. With that said, here are my specifications.

-I'm 5'10" and 225 lb guy
-I've never ridden a bike in my life (although I will be taking training before getting a bike, so I'll have that experience)
-My weight shouldn't effect it too much
-Not above $8000 new (although that's the ridiculous extreme of what I'd be able to spend)
-I want good fuel economy
-It needs to be able to reach highway speeds efficiently

Other than that I don't have enough experience to have other specifications. None that I can think of anyways. Thanks in advance for your advice guys!

P.S. - I live in Washington where motorcycle specific insurance isn't required but I know that in other states it is. Should I get new insurance to cover a motorcycle? If so, any advice on which?

·
Registered
10 Posts
I would not recommend the Rebel, 250's are more for city driving. I would recommend something around 800 cc's for sustained highway speeds if the cruiser style is what you desire. Just about every bike gets great gas mileage. I'm pretty new and ride a Yamaha FZ-07, which is only 700 cc's and it's getting about 54 mpg. It only cost 7000, but it's not a cruiser.

·
Registered
1,878 Posts
If you are looking at cross country trips -- as in at least several hundred miles over a couple of days -- you need a LOT of riding time before embarking on that type of riding.
Not knowing your personality or abilities, I cannot even venture a guess as to how much.

No 250CC bike is going to be good for you.