Motorcycle Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So i'm new to riding and I just took the motorcycle rider safety course and i'm getting on the road in the next few days. I did pretty good with the bike they had there but I just got on mine and road around the block and it's bigger and gonna take me a minute to get used to. Also the oil light is on but the oil is fine and the coolant is like spritzing out a little? anyway i'm looking for some tips, especially since my area is quite populated. I bought the bike to get to work and school, don't plan on going on the highway anytime soon. I'm near the newark area but i live in the suburbs.

·
Registered
26 Posts
Hello from Arizona. I recently took the course as well back in December. They put me on a Honda Rebel I believe it was. Super light weight and low enough to the ground for me. I purchased an Indian Scout Sixty which is significantly heavier than the Honda Rebel I rode on. My advice for the weight is just continue riding it and get the feel for it. I thought my bike was way to heavy for me to ride because I was use to something so much lighter however over time you adapt to the weight of your bike and it somehow becomes lighter at least in my case. You get use to the weight as you continue to ride. As for the oil Im not sure what that can be, the coolant however can just be a gasket that needs to be replaced, usually isn't too big of a deal depending on how much is coming out

·
On The Road Again!
4,207 Posts
Sellena is right. You will get used to the weight if you ride it frequently.

I ride a Goldwing that weighs over 900 pounds. When I first got it, I was very intimidated by the weight of the thing even though I'd been riding motorcycles for many years.
Now it just feels like a big toy.

Where in suburbs of New Jersey?
I'm up near Lake Hopatcong myself, in the northeast corner of the state.