Motorcycle Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
As the title would suggest, I am having difficulty deciding on new versus used as a first bike.

I have zero experience on a motorcycle but that is about to change sooner rather than later hopefully. My local ads have bikes all day long that are well within my budget($3k) and are in all shapes and sizes. I am not at all interested in sport bikes. I’m interested in cruisers because they appeal to me more.

I am a maintenance mechanic in an industrial plant so I have experience working with my hands and the tools to go along with it, but I know diddly squat about bike maintenance except for oil and filter/plug changes. My coworker who is retired from the army has owned several bikes over the years and he said if he were me, he would buy new and start from scratch with a clean maintenance record on the bike. He said there’s nothing wrong with buying used, but that I may also be buying someone else’s problem that was not disclosed at time of sale. He went on to say that I will get the best feel for my driving style and what my driving habits are like with a new bike.

I know $3k won’t exactly get a suitable new bike but I can save the money and get what I want. I do not want to finance a bike and I would rather pay cash. The Honda Rebel seems to be suitable for a first bike in my opinion and this is the bike I am currently looking at. If you guys have any suggestions I am all ears and I’ll take any and all criticism.

·
Registered
3,646 Posts
I would rather buy a bike outright than finance it too. Take your time looking for a bike. Sit on a few to find out what "fits" you.
A diligent owner will have maintenance records showing everything ever done to the bike with the date and mileage. Ask to see that.
Hunting for a new bike can be a lot of fun, just don't rush into anything so you'll have something that still excites you a year from now.

·
Registered
210 Posts