Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm currently a student studying business management and marketing I live in a suburb Johnson County Ks. I enjoy active life yoga, and hiking. I just picked up a new hobby riding motorcycles so I started out small with a 2007 Suzuki gs500f.
I know you all probably here this often but I just purchased a 2007 Suzuki GS500f starts perfectly fine however the previous owner had no idea about basic bike maintenance. The bike had about 10k miles currently, what are some basic Prevenative maintenance work I can do without having to take it in to the shop? And also I am using this bike as reliable transportation so I can't afford for it to be down. As a new bike owner before I get excited to ride what are some of the first things I should do to ensure my bike is ready and reliable.

·
Aging & Worn
4,516 Posts
Well, let's look at the Specs (I will assume you have gone online and downloaded the Service Manual for this bike):

SPECS

Engine: 487cc, four-stroke, twin cylinder, air-cooled, DOHC
Bore Stroke: 74.0 x 56.6mm
Compression Ratio: 9.0:1
Fuel System: Mikuni BSR34SS
Lubrication: Wet Sump
Ignition: Digital/Transistorized
Transmission: 6-speed
Final Drive: #520 chain
Overall Length: 2080mm (81.9 in.)
Overall Width: 800mm (31.5 in.)
Overall Height: 1150mm (45.3 in.)
Seat Height: 790mm (31.1 in.)
Ground Clearance: 120mm (4.7 in.)
Wheelbase: 1405mm (55.3 in.)
Dry Weight: 180kg (396.8 lbs.)
Suspension Front: Telescopic, oil damped
Suspension Rear: Link type, 5-way adjustable preload
Brakes Front: Single hydraulic disc
Brakes Rear: Single hydraulic disc
Tires Front: 110/70-17
Tires Rear: 130/70-17
Fuel Tank Capacity: 20.0 liter (5.3 gal.) 19.0 liter (5.0 gal.) CA. Model

First off, your bike is "air cooled" so you won't have to worry about checking your coolant.