Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a 2000 Honda cbr 600. when I bought it the exhaust pipe was cut so it ends right under my right foot. at first I thought it was cool because it was loud. but now I'm tired of using earplugs and not being able to hear. what would be a good exhaust to get and how much should I spend. I'm new to the motorcycle world so I don't know a whole lot.

·
Gone
23,907 Posts
You might be able to find a decent stock exhaust cheaply, since they are usually still good when people change out their exhausts. You can sometimes get them at a dealership as take-offs.

There are a lot of aftermarket exhaust systems available, priced according to whatever you want to spend on them. Determine your budget first then shop around.

Changing your exhaust system will effect the fuel mixture. If your bike is running correctly with an open pipe, my guess is that the fuel system has been altered to suit. If you change back to a muffler, the fuel will have to be adjusted as well If it's running like crap, that might be the reason.

·
Aging & Worn
4,516 Posts
To add to Dodsfall's point.........when you finally choose what exhaust you might like to change over to, see if you can find out if they recommend a fuel/ignition compensation kit to balance out your bikes performance due to the change. They shouldn't cost much, and are worth every dime if it keeps your bike running properly.

-Soupy

·
Registered
5,059 Posts
I have heard great things about Yoshimura (sp?) pipes for sport bikes. My bike has a Delkevic slip-on, but my bike is a twin so l can't say if they make them for your bike. It was already on there when l bought the bike.

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
are there brands to stay away from or ones that are better then others? Also is it that the more money I spend the better or is less expensive just as good?

·
Aging & Worn
4,516 Posts