Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys! It's Moe again! So I have my Suzuki Bandit GSF600S, my first bike ever and it runs relatively well, you know just some small issues that need to be looked at like the brake pads and what not.

I had a friend that is a more experienced rider tell me that I shouldn't invest too much in my first bike as it's my first. Keep in mind I have huge ideas for this monster, like conversions, new parts such as: Exhausts, Tails, Fenders, New Dash, New Brakes and so much more, essentially transforming the whole bike.

Keep in mind it runs well without all these things but I prefer to upgrade because I am a novice and love working on my bike.

Do you guys think I should keep investing or leave as is?

·
Registered
257 Posts
It's your bike. I say modify away if it makes you happy. Personalizing a bike will make it you appreciate it all the more and you'll feel good about doing a lot of it yourself.

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
It's your bike. I say modify away if it makes you happy. Personalizing a bike will make it you appreciate it all the more and you'll feel good about doing a lot of it yourself.
My only paranoia is that when and if I do crash all those parts may become damaged and I would've wasted money. What do you think?

·
Registered
257 Posts
Well, that's the possibility none of us like to think about. Simple answer, drive carefully and don't crash. Have you taken the Beginners MSF class ? If not, I highly recommend taking it and soon. Then maybe put some miles on it like it is first, then decide if you still plan on keeping it for a while, then you can decide whether or not to sink some more money into it.

·
Registered
1,328 Posts
Don't overlook the fact that you never get back money you've spent modifying a bike when you sell it. New owners don't want your modifications or don't value them and want then for free.