Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to the street legal bike scene always been on dirt bikes.. I was recently given a 1981 Honda cb650c custom as gift from my aunt and uncle. Now the bike has been sitting for 15 years unfortunately /: my uncle said it ran like a dime and he rode it to and from work everyday until he almost got t-boned on his way to work. No my main concern is the bike has 56000 miles... On a dirt bike thats horrible right? I dont know if thats good or bad on a road bike ): yes I'm considering the fact its been sitting but even still is it high mileage? Low? If I wasn't sitting for that long would it be low miles? Or high miles?? Honestly I just want to know if thats good for a motorcycle whether its been sitting or not.... Pleas ehelp guys! I'm only 17 and just got my m1- license and they gave this to me as a project gift. Please help guys!!!! Thank you!!! (ps. I'm turning re bike into a cafe racer ;)

·
Member Map
23,911 Posts
Sitting for 15 years is going to be more of a concern than the mileage. It's going to cost some money to get it safely roadworthy.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Yes I know I've already ordered tank cleaner a full gasket set and 4 carb rebuild kits. I've already taken a look inside the motor she looks healthy my uncle got her serviced regularly :) my uncle drained the oil before he parked it but forgot to drain the gas. Is there anything else I should consider buying beside sparkplugs and the obvious stuff? Any help would be greatly appreciated. I'm trying to get my uncles dream back on the road :)

·
Registered
1,053 Posts
Actually, yr uncle not draining the gas, probably did you a favor.
All the gaskets o rings etc in the fuel system will not have dried out.
Unlike 2 stroke, not draining 2 stroke s a big NoNo
So, dump the fuel, clean the carbs, add new fuel, should be good.
Change all the liquids, Brake fluid, Oils.
Also as said Tyres ..Definitely