Motorcycle Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Im a junior in high school looking for my first bike. I have a budget of about $2800 and I was thinking about getting a 1-2 year old Grom or z125, or a 5-10 year old Ninja or CBR. I heard that the 125 bikes arent great to start on bc they can’t go on the freeway, but i am not good with mechanical things so i am concerned about the reliability issues of a bike that is a little older. Im a newbie at this so any advice would be greatly appreciated.

·
Registered
316 Posts
Wish I'd started riding while still in High School, but instead waited until just after my 30 year reunion. But we do have one thing in common... mechanical inclination (or lack of). For that reason I opted for new over used.

How important is it to be no the freeway? If it's a requirement then a 125 won't meet your need so it shouldn't even be considered. If it's a nice-to-have then it's possibly a better choice since it sounds like you don't have a of extra cash for repairs/maintenance.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Wish I'd started riding while still in High School, but instead waited until just after my 30 year reunion. But we do have one thing in common... mechanical inclination (or lack of). For that reason I opted for new over used.

How important is it to be no the freeway? If it's a requirement then a 125 won't meet your need so it shouldn't even be considered. If it's a nice-to-have then it's possibly a better choice since it sounds like you don't have a of extra cash for repairs/maintenance.
Freeway riding isn’t very important to me. It would be nice, but i mostly just was a bike that i get ride around town/to school.

·
Registered
1,287 Posts
First, welcome!

Buying a bike gives you three options regarding mechanical issues:

1. You have enough money to not worry about learning how to fix/repair anything because you can afford to have someone else take care of it.