Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 20 of 53 Posts

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I am a total newbie and at 42 years old have never ridden before. I am signing up for a rider's course soon and am looking at bikes. I would be using the bike as a daily driver back and forth to work...no long trips cross country or anything. Got small kids so no time for that. For a daily driver bike, in traffic and open highway (55mph), what would be a good bike for me? I'm 5'10 215 pounds. I like the look of the Yamaha V Star 250 or the Suzuki Boulevard S40. Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance.

·
Registered
1,878 Posts
Nothing in your profile as to your location, so if you live in an area in which the highway traffic is light to moderate and traveling at 55mph is comfortably safe, either of those bikes could do it.
Your ability to accelerate in traffic, carry a little more weight and all around comfort would be better served by looking slightly bigger -- like the V-Star 650.
Being brand new to riding, I think you will find the slightly larger bike a forgiving ride (or so I hear).
I rode V-Star 650 once when I started riding and liked it. In fact, I almost bought it until a prettier bike turned my head.
There are comparable bikes from other manufacturers, e.g.. Honda Shadow.
On the used bike market, neither of these would be much more of an investment over the 250.

Good luck!

·
Registered
1,003 Posts
I love my s40. I wouldn't say its the best highway bike, but it could handle the highway. VStar 900 is my dream upgrade bike, or the Vulcan, haven't made up my mind.

·
Registered
4,169 Posts