Motorcycle Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everybody, I am new here and am desperate to get my bike going faster and would be grateful for any info on my bike. i have a 1974 Suzuki TS185 Sierra. Its an enduro it is geared to ride on trails up hills and what not. I only use it on the streets. Im not too concerned about keeping it original i have already painted it because the original paint job was rusted and looked horrible. So i have a few questions about the gearing do i need to change both the front and back sprockets and also do i have to shorten chain i would assume i have to get sprockets with less teeth so i would need to shorten my chain. Also is it necessary to change my tires to road tires instead of the knobby off road tires it has? i want to be able to cruise at 55 mph and at the most go 65 without having the rpm's being so high. right now i can barely cruise at 35. I am a newbie to this so please any info would be appreciated i hate having cars and trucks ride my ass! its just too dangerous i want to be able to ziip out of a bad situation when needed. anyways thanks for any help guys! -joey

·
Registered
51 Posts
First, if you're only concerned about riding on the street and you want to make more street rideable, you can DECREASE the number of teeth on the rear sprocket. This will lower the RPM in top gear so the top speed will rise along with lower engine vibrations. However, the bike will not be as "quick" off the line.

A rule of thumb is that each tooth reduction will lower the RPM by about 500 RPM. Keep in mind this is a loose guideline and will be dependent upon the transmission gearing.

You could also INCREASE the front sprocket to lower the RPM but you might have clearance and/or chain binding problems.
My suggestion is to lower the rear sprocket one tooth at a time until you find what you are looking for.