Motorcycle Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Howdy. Fresh out of the MSF course with little experience aside from dirt bikes as a child, I'm looking for really any cruiser under $4000 to make 20 mile round trips to work, and trips from Oklahoma to Louisiana periodically. I don't really have a preference on look, power, or make, as long as it's a moderately friendly bike that'll make the trip.

A few searches found me a nearby used 2006 Suzuki Boulevard for $2200, and I have no experience buying vehicles, but that sounds suspiciously cheap. If I hear that it is a reasonable price, would it be smarter to see if someone with motorcycle experience would be willing to help me inspect the bike, or am I over blowing how difficult it would be to inspect it for myself?

·
Registered
607 Posts
My '08 C50 with 13K miles on it and in excellent condition, equipped with a windshield, saddlebags and brand-new Michelin tires cost me $2750 a year ago -- admittedly a great deal, but suggesting to me that $2000 for a good '06 might not be out of the realm of reason. It would be prudent to have an experienced person look it over, but if it appeals to you I'd sure consider it. With riding season ending in many areas of the country, and perhaps Xmas expenses looming ahead, there will be some dandy deals out there for the next few months.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks for the advice! If it doesn't pan out, I'll look around for christmas sales instead of looking immediately.

·
Registered
3,646 Posts
Honda Shadow is a good bike and they made lots of them. Pick your size, 600, 750 or 1100. Very reliable with basic upkeep.
In my area, there's usually plenty of them between $2000 and $3000. If it's over $3000 it's usually all dressed out with windshield, saddle bags, back rest(s) and luggage rack for traveling.