Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to riding and I have a 1983 Yamaha virago. The other morning I went to start it and the oil level indicator came on. I didn't have time to deal with it then, so I went to work and came home and went out to see what was up. When I went to start it I noticed I left the engine cut off switch in the "on" position. When I tried to start it I turned the key to on and no headlight, indicator lights came on. I tried to push start it but it wouldn't turn over. I charged the battery today and right when I plugged it said it was fully charged. I put it back in the bike, but same nothing happened...now I don't know what to do. The battery is only a few weeks old. The bike was running just fine until then. And itnyas a full tank of gas....help! Thanks!!

·
American Legion Rider
23,527 Posts
Any time you let a battery fully discharge that battery is shot or if you are lucky which should have happened here if it truly was new, it's usable life is greatly reduced. You can try removing it and take it to a auto parts store to have them test it but I personally would just bite the bullet and replace it with a new one. This is of course assuming the only thing that you did was leave it on and it just completely discharged and that light you saw was for the oil and not your charging system to begin with. Do you get what I'm saying there? If it was your charging system light instead you probably have a short somewhere that will just destroy another battery anyway.

·
Aging & Worn
4,516 Posts
You said,"....... I noticed I left the engine cut off switch in the 'On' position.............."

Wait a minute..........hold the phone..........are you talking about the "Kill" switch? Or rather, are you saying that you left the key in the "On" position?

-Soupy

·
Registered
275 Posts