Motorcycle Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
44 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm a noob and need some help with determining the right handlebar height/body position to eliminate neck pain while riding.

I have a Honda Rebel. I lowered the stock bars a little and it feels more comfortable than the stock position. However, I'm still getting neck pain in the lower portion of my neck after riding for only 30 minutes.

I'm sitting straight up with my forearms almost parallel to the road with a slight bend in the elbows. I adjusted my elbows to be a bit tucked in closer to my sides and that seemed to help a bit but I still get pain.

Any tips or advice for a noob rider? TIA

·
Registered
257 Posts
I tried different weight helmets and no helmet at all. I did not try raising my bars or pulling them back because I had hip and knee problems that also made riding difficult. I had a hip replacement 2 months ago and it’s doing much better. Neck surgery is this Thursday. I sold my Voyager but may consider a smaller bike after all the new parts are installed and broke in. I hope you’re able to get rid of the neck pain without surgery.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
American Legion Rider
25,876 Posts
For a new rider, neck pain isn't uncommon. You are using muscles in a different way than you usually use them. Especially without a windshield. I wouldn't get too concerned until you've been riding for awhile. Like several thousand miles or a full riding season. Then if it continues you might need to look for different handlebars or possibly a different bike. One with a windshield could make all the difference in the world.

·
Gone.
17,857 Posts
^^^ This.

I've seen several new riders find out that holding your head forward against the wind uses neck muscles in a different way than they are used to. Usually it's just a matter of giving those muscles time to build up strength.