Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello.
Please forgive me if I aren't using correct terms and if this is posted in the wrong place, I'm new to motorcycling and these forums :)
So I recently replaced my head gasket on my bike, and was told I needed some exhaust paste, so I visited my local garage and they supplied me with some high temperature exhaust paste. When I got home I fitted the new gasket and put the paste on and went out on it the next day.
All was well until I rode half way down a main road I got to about 55mph and I lost revs (I'm not sure if that is the correct term), which made my bike slow down and a loud pop or bang out the exhaust. I pulled over, waited a bit and set off to my desination and everything was fine as I took it slow.
Unfortunately due to wet weather conditons, as I arrived at my destination and set off again to go for lunch I slipped and my bike crashed and the bike needed a new chain and sprockets but that's a different story.
Anyway I picked up my bike from my garage yesterday, I set off and forgot about this problem altogether as it has been two weeks. The same thing happened again as I got down the road, the loud bang and my bike slowed down. I managed to get it home and I've had a think and I thought I may have put too much paste on my head gasket so I had another look, took the gasket out and sort of cleaned out all the silicon type gunk that was in there. Put the exhaust back on and rode down the road at a high speed. The exact same thing happened.
Has anybody got any ideas? Could some of this paste have gotten into the exhaust somehow? The exhaust is a new exhaust too and it never had this problem at high speeds before. It never happened before I put the paste on. I have a Sinnis Max 125 which I am told is a cheap version of a GS 125 as parts are interchangeable.