Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello fellow members! I'm a noobie so please don't judge. Okay well to start off I've been saving for about 3 years and I finally got the bike of my dreams which was the 2009 Harley Davidson Nighster.
I turned the key to the ignition ON and everything turned on from the lights to the taillights and I could actually start it. Now today in the morning I switched the ignition to ON and only the neutral and oil lights turned on. Nothing else. What does this mean? Am I out of battery?

·
Member Map
23,911 Posts
It could be the battery, but the first thing I would check is that the battery connections are tight. Sportys tend to have the negative post loosen over time and it needs to be re-tightened periodically. You should be able to get to the connection by removing the seat. All it takes is it to be slightly loose to cause the motorcycle not to start.

·
Registered
1,145 Posts
Did you check the kill switch on the right side handlebar is set properly? It's easy to nudge that switch "off" then spend a lot of time wondering why the bike won't start.. hey I've done it! :p

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Well I mean as you can see in the picture I sent you the only thing that turns on is the neutral and oil signals. Could the battery be loose and still have the power to turn on those lights

Attachments

·
Registered
1,003 Posts