Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I am just getting into street riding, and gear for that is obviously very expensive. I have a full set of MX (off-road) gear already, and I'm wondering if it is frowned upon (or unsafe) to use any of my MX gear for street riding? I'm aware that an MX jersey wouldn't provide enough protection, but what about the pants, boots, and gloves? I already have a full face helmet for the street, so that part is taken care of. I guess my main question is if it is "socially acceptable" and safe for me to use any of my MX gear for street riding? Any input would really be appreciated!

·
8,621 Posts
Socially acceptable where?

The MX gear would just be a form of ATGATT and the normally bright colors would help people see you too.

I know what you are asking though and I've wondered the same:

So essentially, a rider would be maybe a bit odd wearing his Rickey Racer, superbike costume as he rode his Harley Davidson or reverse it an wear the full Harley "Pirate" outfit, leather chaps, Engineer boots and all on your Ducati Panigale or wearing the same stuff at a Goldwing Rally. :confused:

Now if you have an Adventure/ dualsport bike, no one would notice your attire.

If you have a BMW, good luck because most have no idea how to dress to look like they even deserve to ride a BMW unless they want to look like the Anorexic male models in the Motorcycle adds, who have never ridden in their life but look good in their full MATRIX outfit.:frown: