Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been riding a 50cc moped for 3 years, over 10,000 miles. Now I'm looking to upgrade, probably to a 250cc. My first question is, say I found a 600cc bike for a bargain; would it be a poor choice to buy? Or should I start on a 250cc even though I have moped experience?

Also, I'd really like a bike with storage which I could take on a dirt road in a pinch(I love to camp and would like to take the bike to the mountains.) but all the used bikes I see for under $2000(my budget) are sportbikes or cruisers. Should I just forget offroading until I can afford a more expensive bike?

Lastly, what do you all recommend for the safest gear I can purchase? I'm looking to spend ~$750 on a new jacket, gloves, pants and boots.

How are soft pad mesh jackets such as this(http://www.motorcycle-superstore.com/57038/i/alpinestars-viper-air-jacket)
compared to hard plastic(correct?) armor such as this(http://www.motorcycle-superstore.com/44963/i/icon-stryker-rig) safety wise? I understand that there will always be risk involved with motorcycles, but I'd like to reduce that risk as much as possible.

Also, after one completes the DMV class, what's the best way to learn more about safe/defensive motorcycle riding?

Sorry, I know this is a lot of questions! Just trying to get a good start to riding and know what I'm talking about.

Thanks guys!

·
Premium Member
8,909 Posts
New bike

Suzuki makes a 400 and 650 dual purpose bike. I would not get a 4 cylinder 600. My boots are from the Army supply store. They are a bit warm for summer riding. Leather jackets are everywhere. Get gloves in a variety of warmth ranges. Pants are a personal choice. Get some good rain gear.

Unkle Crusty*

·
American Legion Rider
23,527 Posts