Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi guys,

I'm a complete newbie and wanted to know more about motorcycle kits.

How difficult would it be for me to build my own kit with no prior experience?

Also, how could these kits be improved?

Thank you!

·
Save them all!
4,278 Posts
I think that's really subjective - based on you and your related experience. Do you own a set of tools? And know how to use them? Do you do do your own maintenance on other every day things, or take them somewhere? Can you take the time to make sure things are done properly? After all, your life (and others) will be at stake while you're riding this thing.

·
lost
1,106 Posts
I'm curious about what motorcycle kits he's talking about. I believe he posted on motorcycle-usa.com and I responded there.

·
lost
1,106 Posts
I found these on a search and they look pretty darn good. They're fairly simple layouts it looks like, not a load of body work, just the basic stuff. I can't see them being too difficult to assemble for someone who has done more than the basic oil change type stuff.

·
Save them all!
4,278 Posts
Those are cool. I think Leno did a piece on the Suzuki Ryca kits.

·
American Legion Rider
21,205 Posts
I'm confused.:confused: What ever happened to just stripping off everything and building it back up the way you want it? Are these "kits" for those that have no imagination of their own or is there a reason to buy a kit? I thought the whole idea was to personalize your bike. But we're not talking about a rat bike so my confusion is what is it about the kits that makes it okay? Got to be something more than just swapping parts, correct?

·
Gone.
17,857 Posts
I found these on a search and they look pretty darn good. They're fairly simple layouts it looks like, not a load of body work, just the basic stuff. I can't see them being too difficult to assemble for someone who has done more than the basic oil change type stuff.