Motorcycle Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am very new to sport bikes / motorcycles. I went from a 1980 honda cb750 custom to a 2001 suzuki gsx600f katana. I am trying to get myself ready for upgrades to the bike. I had another post where someone told me to modify the sprocket and a few other things, but i have no idea how to modify the sprocket or even where to begin. Anyone have any good thoughts on how to do this??

·
Premium Member
14,680 Posts
You can't actually modify your sprocket, you need to buy a new one with more or less teeth. I am assuming you want more power so a popular mod is to go -1 tooth in the front +2 in the rear to give you more acceleration. When you replace the sprockets you should replace the chain as well.

·
The Cool Joker
1,451 Posts
however, doing -1 in the front is nearly the equivalent of going +2 in the rear. we need to know your stock gearing in the sprockets to give you a proper idea.

example:

my stock sprockets are 15/47, which is 3.133. a simple change to 14/47 changed the overall ratio to 3.357, quite a good bit for just one tooth changed.

in consideration, you could change to 15/49, but that is 2.266. there is more change from one tooth in front than 2 teeth in the rear.

14/49 is a common ratio for my bike, which equates to 3.5 . mind you, this is a good ways away from 3.133.....enough change to put a dent into gas mileage and to limit top speed by around 15 mph (not important if you're not TRACKING the bike, though).

www.gearingcommander.com is your best friend :D

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 · (Edited)