Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
47 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
A couple of days ago I tried changing the oil on my 79 gs850. It's a project bike that I recently got running and I wanted to make it in ridable condition as the oil inside was really old and worn. While taking out the bolt I learned that the oil pan had been stripped. I bought a tap which I've never used before and begun working. I kept using my wrench to tighten it up and when it got a bit tight a gave it a nice nug and heard the scary screech sound you hear when you torque too hard. I immediately stopped, took out the tap, and checked the threads. The threads actually appeared to look very clean however when I stuck my finger inside the oil pan I felt a small divot from what must've been from the tap. Now I can't help but feel worried thinking damn did I just mess up the first project that I just got running? What possible damages could I be dealing with? Are they major damages? I'm waiting on parts so I won't be able to test out the bike yet, any information is greatly appreciated :)

Thanks!

·
American Legion Rider
23,201 Posts
Chances are good the tap just got dry of what little lubrication you might have had from the drained oil and screeched telling you that. But exactly what do you mean you could feel a divot? Divots are not good in threads so what is this divot you speak of? I'd run the tap in and out a few more times at any rate just to make sure the threads are clean. I'd also flush everything out with some kerosine too to remove any metal chips. Let it drain as long as you can to get rid of the kerosine before adding fresh oil.

·
Visionary
4,460 Posts
Do you mean you screwed the tap in so far you hit an internal part of the engine and put a divot ( your term) in it? That could be insignificant or disasterous depending on what you hit...

·
Registered
2005 Suzuki C90T
379 Posts