Motorcycle Forum banner
1 - 1 of 1 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello, I tried to make 3 posts so hopefully I’m not breaking any rules here.

I own a 2005 Kawasaki Z750S with around 50k miles, got it for a steal and it was well kept for the most part It’s my first bike (I’m a huge newbie to motorcycles but I love it!)

I had a problem with the stator bolts backing themselves out the first day I road it and the stator smacked against the flywheel a bit... but I was able to order the OEM bolts and locktight them back in with no charging issues.

once I got back on the road my bike had a FI light on.. I didn’t think much of it since I had no issues with the mechanical functions of the bike; however, after reading on how some of the sensors affiliated with the FI light could shut off the bike, I decided to explore it. I didn’t want to pay the $100 diagnostic fee my local Kawasaki deal charges, so I found out how to put the bike into deal mode 1 in order to read the code. The code showed up as code 15 or atmospheric pressure sensor malfunction. After looking some schematics, I discovered the pressure sensor was underneath the gas tank. I stripped the bike down where I could get to the sensor and looked over the wiring. Me and my dad tested Imput and output voltage and both were in reasonable limits according to the manual. None of the vac tubing looked cracked either. The last step to checking this according to the manual is to check a specific terminal on the ECU and the pressure sensor for continuity.. I plan to do that this weekend; I was just curious if anyone had any other recommendations I should be checking.