Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 20 of 41 Posts

·
Registered
210 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So the way things are looking now, due to job opportunities and college, I might possibly be moving... to Mt. Vernon, Washington just north of Seattle.
I've been wanting to get the h*ll out of Arizona all of my life until I started riding. Now that I'm riding, I've found a new appreciation for Arizona, and I'm extremely unsure about this possible move.
So my question goes out to any of you Washington locals on here:
How is riding in Washington? I want to ride year round like I have been since I started riding. (The longest I've spent away from the bike was a week, and I was pretty sick that whole week.)
Does it rain often? Will I be able to make it work if my bike is my only vehicle (and just take a bus or something if the weather is dangerous)?
Are there as many great roads to ride in Washington like there are in Arizona?
Riding aside, Mt. Vernon is almost my dream town, but riding is a huge part of my life now and I don't want to let it suffer if Washington isn't going to be the right place.
Thank you all in advance

·
Premium Member
6,535 Posts
Mt Vernon.

Finally someone mentions a place in the US where I have been. Mount Vernon is a real pretty place with lakes and hills, and even a few bends in I 5. It rains in the Pacific North West. You can ride year round. Check the weather met for annual rain fall. You will be close to the ocean, Everett, Bellingham, Seattle, and a bunch more places. The Cascade mountains are to the East. Highway 20 is a great ride. Closed in winter months. The East side of the Cascades gets hot, over 100. The next pass South of 20 is Stevens Pass. It is a great ride. Levenworth is a treat. Next one South is I 90. That is a fairly straight freeway.