Motorcycle Forum banner
1 - 20 of 56 Posts

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
A little background on me.
Ive been riding and building bikes for over 60 years and have never run into a problem like this.
I bought a Chinese Rhino Hunter sport 250 Vtwin and I cant get a spark out of it.
I have changed all of the electrical parts except for the two coils which I will do next week.
I would like to know what is needed to set up a static DC CDIignition system away from the bike to see if I can get a spark.
The wiring harness was a rats nest so I have to rewire the bike myself.
I have tried using the sensor in the bike to trigger the spark ,no luck.
I have replaced the stator and sensor. No luck.
What can be used as the trigger in a static setup to act as the trigger sensor when I tie all the pieces together on my bench to make it spark?

·
Premium Member
6,159 Posts
Is the trigger sensor in the bike a small coil mounted next to the rotor? If so, it may not trigger unless the magnet that passes by it passes close enough to generate an adequate pulse, and may also need that pulse to occur as fast and often as it would when cranking the engine for the electronics to decide to trigger a spark. Which end of he magnet you use matters, too, so the pulse will be the proper polarity.
You would also need to confirm that the sensor is actually working; if it is a coil, you should be able to measure its resistance and, if you have an oscilloscope, quickly move a small magnet by it and monitor for a small pulse.

·
Registered
CB125T, EX250 commuter, Ninja 250 racebike, VF500F, CBR600RR, VFR750F
355 Posts
Most likely this is not CDI ignition as those went out of favour back in '80s (too short spark duration). You're probably dealing with transistor control ignition (TCI) which grounds inductive coils to fire.

1. verify you have +12v appearing on both coil terminals with key ON

2. as mentioned, scope pick-up coil signals. Will be VR- variable reluctance signal like this.