Motorcycle Forum banner
1 - 20 of 64 Posts

·
Registered
3,805 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Wanting to buy my first Harley. The local deal has a nice selection of year models and touring bikes. I've rode a Softail before but from what I've read, the touring frame is more comfortable in a long ride.
I'm looking at the Road Glide, Street Glide and Electra Glide made between 2012 and 2015. The frame mount fairing on the Road Glide doesn't bother me as all my Goldwings had frame mounted fairings.
Is there a year model I should avoid? How many miles is too many miles?
When it comes to Harleys, I'm a total noob. From what I've read online, the three bikes I listed above have all I want, and more. But I haven't ruled out a Road King of a radio isn't too hard to add.
What questions should I be asking?
Thanks for your opinions.

·
Registered
3,805 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
Maybe I should have said looking for advice, instead of opinions. Opinions are like, uh, well everyone has one.

I reckon I should have added I'm 6'2" and about 230 pounds. (Too much of it fat!)

·
Retired twice: Navy and as a govt contractor
15,658 Posts
Our real Harley expert is gone and that is a long story in it's self. I will try and help. You are correct the touring frame is a better long distance rider most will say. All three of your choices will fit your needs. The Road King's difference is the way the fairing is mounted. I do not know about the radio, but they are a good ride as well. Our former expert rides one across country every year.

Reactions: cmonSTART

·
Registered
501 Posts
If I remember correctly, Standing Tall did a youtube video comparing the Road Glide and the Electra Glide. It is some where on this forum, as well as the youtube website.

Both are great motorcycles. So is the Road King. Of the three, out on the road here in northern Alabama, I see Electra Glides most often.

·
Moderator - Loves All Motorcycles
1,251 Posts