Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello-
I'm new to riding and am looking for some advice on what to buy. I am sure that there are several threads here that cover each of the questions I have, but I am looking for an opinion that can address all of my concerns together.
I need a low maintenance everyday rider that is capable of cross country. In addition, I would need a bike that is not only affordable, but also comfortable/appropriate for someone of my size- 6'-6"/280Lbs.
Cruiser is the style of bike I prefer, but I am open to all/any advice.
Thanks in advance for your time.

·
Female Rider
9,311 Posts
Hello & welcome to the Forum. Are you looking to buy new or used? Where ya from? What kind of riding will you mainly be doing? etc., etc.

There are several larger guys here on the Forum and they ride all kinds of bikes, from Victories, Harleys, Goldwings, Kawasakis, Yamahas, Suzukis, Hondas, BMWs, etc. It all depends on what you like. My suggestion is go sit on as many bikes as you can to find one that feels right to you. My hubby is 6' 5", weighs 290 and rides a Victory Vision. The other guys will hopefully chime in here on who rides what.

Have you taken the BRC or do you plan on taking it? Good Luck to you.

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks so much for your quick advice, and also for the kind welcome. I would like to buy used to try and save money, I am currently in the Southeast US, but will be traveling to the West Coast. This bike would become my everyday form of transportation. I would need something that could accommodate a little storage and is reliable. I am glad to hear that I am among people who can relate to being a larger rider. I like the way a Kawasaki Vulcan looks on paper and reality- would you say that would fit my needs? I have not taken the BRC, but plan to before going cross-country.
Once again, thanks for your time/advice.
All the best...

·
Female Rider
9,311 Posts