Motorcycle Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
So I will be riding a Kawasaki Ninja 250 on March 29th up to UC Santa Cruz, as I am a student there. It will be a trip a have to do with only having the bike for 4-5 days and 2 weeks of riding experience. I had a few questions and I was also hoping th Appvn at maybe some of you who have completed this trip might share their experiences with me; furthermore, give me some tips for the road.
My first question begins with: I have heard many opinions that Kawasaki Ninjas are suitable and definitely doable for highway usage; on the contrary to popular belief, they maxed out and were terrible for highway usage on long distances. I will not complete this trip often; however, I want to know that if I wanna go home once in a while I won't have to completely dread it. SHAREit
Second Question: Similarly, to wanting to take a trip to LA, I also would like to go to bay area/SF once in awhile. It's not nearly as long of a trip but I've also heard that riding in windy conditions as well as riding around there specifically can be dangerous because of the lean it creates?? I also heard this from a 2-3 year experienced rider who goes to UCSC and owned a 250 and said he had some close calls where he almost got pushed off the road. I took this with a grain of salt because the reason he doesn't ride anymore is that he had many near accidents and he valued his life and other things too much to ride.

·
Registered
607 Posts
I'm not gonna lie to you. It's 300+ miles. It's a 250. Will you make it? Without a doubt, so long as you stay focused and safety-minded. But, will you suffer? Oh yes, my friend... oh, yes. It's just a question of how much you can take. When I was 22 -- no sweat. At 67 -- well, I'd survive but I'd take 2 days to recuperate.

·
Registered
977 Posts