Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I’ve recently acquired a bike after a year and a half of searching. I don’t care for super sports or any newer bikes like those, I prefer classics or cruiser bikes. The bike I bought was a 1973 Cb500 with a 550 build in it. It runs fine but I was wondering if it would be too dangerous or hard to learn on? I have ridden dirt bikes most of my life so I know how to ride a bike but not of a motorcycle type. I’ve only ridden a Ninja 250 and it felt pretty comfortable after a day of getting used to it, almost kind of weak to me. I have some experience but I still want to know, is a 73 Cb550 too big to start on?

·
Registered
299 Posts
My buddy learned to ride on a CB550, back in 1981. I think it's a good choice for a first bike, not too powerful or heavy, but capable enough for the freeway. It's a classic geometry, was popular then and running examples are still relatively plentiful now. The only drawback in my opinion, is extra hassle that 4 cylinders bring, if you have to also learn how to be a mechanic. A '73, even with a later engine, requires more attention than a more recent bike.

I have seen a fair amount of interest in converting these machines into cafe racers. They can be found as barn finds and basket cases relatively cheaply.

·
American Legion Rider
19,010 Posts
Shouldn't be a problem since you have dirt bike riding experience. Street riding is a little different so I'd still suggest the motorcycle training class. Learn the correct way first so you don't have to unlearn bad habits. That's very hard to do. Good luck and...

WELCOME ON BOARD, and...

We are a friendly site here. Well, most of us.

·
Registered
391 Posts