Motorcycle Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Greetings. I'm 61, new to this forum and am looking for advice for a first motorcycle. I have been riding my Piaggio BV 350 scooter for several months and take it all over the place. But I have not ridden a regular bike outside of the MSF class (although I drive a manual-transmission car). Do you think this scooter experience counts for much? Most of the basic beginners' bikes have less power than my Piaggio, so I'm afraid I'll get bored immediately. I'm leery about buying a pricey bike and dropping it. I like standards (the Triumph Street Twin is my ideal), but most of the starter used bikes in my area are cruisers and obviously lack ABS. Any suggestions?

·
Visionary
5,413 Posts
Welcome!
I've never ridden a scooter but I'll still give you my opinion.
I think you'd be fine on a Triumph street twin if your confident on the scooter.
Here is why;
You said your confident on the Scooter, and looking it up it's not a small one, it's a fairly heavy machine at 375 pounds, close to a mid sized motorcycle. You rode a standard bike in the MSF class, and you drive a manual car so the shifting will come back naturally to you. The triumph is not a big heavy bike, it's reasonably light at 450 pounds and nimble, just be careful until you master it at slow speeds, tight turns, those are where it would be nice to have a cheap beater to practice on, but with some caution I think you'd be OK. There is of course some risk of dropping that pretty new bike but i think with your experience it's reasonable.

Reactions: Porky

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Welcome!
I've never ridden a scooter but I'll still give you my opinion.
I think you'd be fine on a Triumph street twin if your confident on the scooter.that looks like a decent sized one, 375 pounds, close to the weight of a mid sized motorcycle.
Here is why;