Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Good evening and thanks for having me. Currently out here in good old NH.
I am complete newbie when it comes to riding, but I have had experience with dirt bikes and ATV's.

I am scheduled for my BRC and am currently shopping around for my first beginner bike. What would be the best fit for a man of my size? I am 6ft a little over 200 pounds, I have sat on a 250 before and it just seems like it will be to small for me. I am a quick learner when it comes to anything motorized.

Thanks for any guidance and I am happy to be a new member to motorcycleforum.com

·
Female Rider
9,311 Posts
Welcome to the Forum. The BRC is the best place to start your riding career. You will have more of an idea about a bike after you complete the course. Like most members will tell you, go to lots of dealers and sit on all kinds of bikes. You will find one or two that just feel right.

Given your size you will probably want to start with a larger bike. What style you want and what you want to do with it means a lot when looking for a bike. Good Luck in your search and remember to have fun with it.

·
Registered
631 Posts
Those 250cc bikes seemed tiny before taking the BRC, but just right afterwards. You'd help your cause if you said what you wanted spend for a bike, but I wouldn't get too serious about it until you've complete the BRC. Your outlook may change.

·
American Legion Rider
21,231 Posts

·
7,512 Posts
Welcome from the state of Misery!

With dirt bike experience and taking into consideration your size and weight, I'd go with at least a 650 to 750cc bike, otherwise if you get something smaller you will out grow it and probably get bored with it.