Motorcycle Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, My name is Jack. I live on Long Island, New. York. Originally from Pittsburgh (go Steelers!).
Currently riding a '98 Moto Guzzi California EV11. Some of you may not like the color (orange and yellow), but it's a classic from MG. It's known as HDM (hot dog & mustard:smile_big:). I started riding when I was about 13. I'm now 66. Growing up I had the usual Japanese bikes. Started with a Kawasaki 125 dual purpose, moved to a screamer...the famous Yamaha RD350 and finally a little Honda cruiser, CX500.
Then a family came along and I sold everything as I did't think it fair to my wife to have to care for me and kids if something happened. Well, the kids are grown and my wife gave me some $ a few Christmas's ago and told me to get another bike. I guess she saw me looking at E-bay every night and realized that I still had it in my system.
I decided that I wanted something different and was leaning towards older vertical twin Triumphs. My neighbor happened to invite me to a Tuesday night car show in Oyster Bay, NY (about 10 miles from my house). For those of you that don't know it, that's where Billy Joel has his open garage/museum. Well I didn't look at any cars that night and spent the evening in Billy's place. I was expecting to see if crammed with Harley's, but to my surprise, had a lot of everything and more Moto Guzzi's that I could have imagined.
Weil, I wanted something different, and I decided that if they're good enough for Billy, they're good enough for me. A few weeks later I found the California only a few miles from my house. I bought it a few years ago, did the normal things that you' do with a new/unknown purchase (tires, oils etc.) and got it on the road.