Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm not a mechanic, but I can usually get something to work the way I need it to. Lol.

Well I got this Kawasaki 700ltd given to me to fix or scrap. I managed to repair the gas tank, remove the carbs, soak them till they were shiney and clean. After removing the air pollution bs off this thing and redoing the vaccume lines, I got this thing purring like a kitten. I now am having problems with the bike not revving up while riding. 1st gear screams, all power, shift to second and give her gas, she starts to sputter in half way and wants to die off. Clutch and rev motor and she will redline. Put in gear and will sputter in all gears but first.
I checked all the floats, needle valves, blew out the fuel lines in carb and is completely clean. Spark plugs were a little grimey, cleaned them checked gaps, and checked spark before replacing them. Has pressure in all cylinders. (If I sound dumb, sorry, I don't have all the right part names yet, self taught, dad wasn't there).
What am I missing? This bike is screaming at me to run! I need help here.

·
Female Rider
9,324 Posts
Did you take the air pollution bs stuff off and leave it off? If so that could be your problem. On most bikes just changing the pipes can lead to the need for the bike to be rejetted. Doing things to the "fuel system" often leads to lean conditions. Hopefully some of the mechanically minded folks can help you.

·
ZAMM Fanatic
2,730 Posts
As soon as you report removing "all that air pollution crap" you lose the attention of most professional motorcycle techs. Working properly it costs little or nothing in performance, and removing it often CAUSES the very types of drivability problems you now report.