Motorcycle Forum banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
2021 CanAm Spyder RT
4,160 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been riding motorcycles for close to 40 years, although I was a late starter, and I'm still riding at 79 and hope to keep riding as long as I am on this Earth. But last year, when I had to face the reality of aging and the loss of muscle strength, I traded in my wonderful 2016 Goldwing for a new Can Am Spyder RT. I love riding the Spyder, but it is not a "real" motorcycle. It gives many of the same experiences, like going down the road, open to the elements, wind in my face, etc. And it certainly has some practical advantages over a 2 wheeler, like essentially not worrying about the road suddenly turning into fresh, loose gravel, or putting a foot down at a red light and slipping due to oil on the road. The semi-auto transmission takes a bit of getting used to, with no clutch lever and no need to downshift when slowing down. Stop and go traffic is a breeze, since like a car in Drive, you can stay in 1st gear at stops and move when the traffic moves without shifting gears at all until things speed up. My wife loves the ride, and no longer worries that while getting on or off she will cause the bike to tip over and dump us both on the ground. But again, it is not a real motorcycle. It takes up a whole lane, and any thoughts of filtering or lane splitting need to be forgotten. There is no longer the thrill of leaning into a curve, pouring on the power as you come through the curve and blasting ahead, at one with the bike.