Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello. I'm new to riding and to this forum. A couple months ago i bought a 2000 Honda cbr 600 f4. So far its is a good bike and i like it. when I ride it my right hand at the base of my thumb starts to cramp. So my question is what am I doing wrong and what can i do to fix it?

·
Registered
2,336 Posts
I get that from time to time as well on my SV650. I believe that it comes from the riding position...leaning forward you are putting pressure on your hands and wrists. Sometimes after a while my fingers try to go numb on me too. My solution is, l am going to put handlebar risers on my bike so l can sit up straight

·
Aging & Worn
4,517 Posts
Cramping of the hand(s), particularly the Throttle hand, is common for all riders. It happens to beginners who take extended rides, and it happens to seasoned veterans of motorcycling.

If it didn't, there wouldn't be the optional tools out there to help us with it.

There is a product called a "Crampbuster" that you can put on your Throttle, that gives the palm of your hand a resting place, whilst maintaining speed:

http://crampbuster.com/

And there are "Cruise Control" units of various types that are available for motorcycles if you wish. This one is a low-end solution. There are other more elaborate and expensive ones:

http://www.cruisercustomizing.com/vista-cruise-universal-cruise-control-metric-cruisers-with-1-inch-bars/part/VC-07-4041

What I have learned to do, is to keep my hands (particularly, but not exclusively my throttle hand) from a "death grip" on the handlebars. I will sometimes hold the throttle grip with my thumb and first finger, while extending out my other fingers and exercising them for a moment or two.

I would then revert to holding the throttle with my other fingers, and exercise the thumb and first finger a bit.

I will often go back-n-forth between these two holds, until any cramping goes away.