Motorcycle Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
First, I do have a street bike (a big cruiser), so I am not new to motorcycles...but I am totally new to dirt bikes. I’ve always wanted a dirt bike and I finally bought one at age 40...go figure.

I bought a 4 stroke enduro and I wanted to get into dual sport riding. I also thought it would something fun I can do with my kids. I’ve only had it out a few times. Unfortunately, when I took it out a month ago, I wiped out on it. I took it out yesterday and rode a very short while on a dirt and gravel road. My big question is...

How do you all get comfortable with the tire occasionally slipping? I know I’m stating the obvious here, but it’s so different than how planted you feel on a street bike. It’s an uneasy feeling, especially when I’m just getting back on it after my wipe out. I’ve watched lots of YouTube videos too on tips for off road riding for beginners and they skip too sometimes. So, I’m assuming tire slippage is fairly normal and common. One potential issue is that my bike has 50/50 tires on it...maybe even more so oriented for street. So, I am not running full Knobbies.

Do you or did you also feel weird and uncomfortable with the slippage and loss of traction? How did you overcome it?

·
Premium Member
10,063 Posts
The whole idea of riding in the dirt, is to get used to the feel of the bike moving around. You can practice locking each brake. Start in a straight line, then try it in the corners. You will soon find out what happens. Just do it carefully at first. It will come to you.

UK

·
Registered
208 Posts