Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,
Prepare for complete novice questions.

With corona and everything going on I might have some more spare time than usual on my hands so I'm planning to clean my carbs on my vx800 and I'm not sure about the full procedure. I have Googled some, but I can't seem to find the info I'm looking for.

Which parts/screws/jets should be cleaned? Which should I leave in place. Do I remove the main air jet for cleaning? Does it need to be readjusted when reassembling or is that something you don't do with the main air jet?

Which screws need readjustment after cleaning? Is it just the air/fuel mix (pilot jet?) and idle screws?

Can someone explain step by step what needs to be removed and readjusted.

As long as I know what needs adjusting I think I can figure out how to get a good setting, so no need to explain the tuning procedure. I understand that I at least need to readjust the fuel/air mix and idle, and synchronize the carbs. But is there more?

Also, do I need to get any new gaskets and the like?

If anyone cares to help a novice beginning to learn I'm deeply thankful.

Cheers

·
Ace Tuner
2,194 Posts
What year model?
I looked up a 1990 to help jog my memory.

Which parts/screws/jets should be cleaned? Which should I leave in place. Do I remove the main air jet for cleaning? Does it need to be readjusted when reassembling or is that something you don't do with the main air jet?
No need to remove the throttle plate parts and shaft.
You do not need to remove the air jets unless they became hopelessly clogged somehow. (Very, Very rare).
All fuel jets, the area where the slide diaphragm seals, the slide itself and all of the internal ports (passages) inside the carburetor body itself should be cleaned.
Just clean the main jets and put the same ones back where you found them.