Motorcycle Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi Guys I'm new to motorcycles and while I don't own a bike yet I'm focusing on acquiring all the appropriate gear before I take that step. Helmet, jacket, gloves, pants, boots... I understand the need for those but I'm getting a bit confused on the additional armor options available such as armor vests, back protectors, elbow guards, knee braces, etc. Most jackets and pants that I've looked at already have armor embedded (ex. AGV Sport Dragon Leather Jacket). Are these other options supplemental and can work with the embedded armor or are they for completely different riding styles/ situations? I'm interested in sport/ sport touring bikes if that helps.

Any advice is appreciated!

·
Registered
5,625 Posts
Welcome from rainy Seattle!!!

I wear a good helmet, gloves with reinforced knuckles, a jacket with armor in the shoulders and elbows, riding shoes that have reinforced toes and armor in the ankles, and Kevlar riding jeans. I could armor up a lot more for sure. If you want the ultimate you can get vests that are an airbag that inflate and basically envelope you in a big bubble on impact. But I crashed pretty good about 3 years ago in gear similar to what I am currently wearing, and I don't believe more gear would have changed the outcome.

·
Aging & Worn
4,547 Posts
Let’s face it........even wearing all the gear available, you can still DIE. The idea is to be safe in your actions and choices.

Every bit of protection you wear.......helps, of course, but you are exposed and vulnerable.

The risk is still there, in other words. You are (like the rest of us) just trying to minimize the amount of resultant damage.

·
Registered
1,286 Posts
Are these other options supplemental and can work with the embedded armor or are they for completely different riding styles/ situations? I'm interested in sport/ sport touring bikes if that helps.

Any advice is appreciated!