Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey all, I am new to biking and working on bike. I am having a hard time finding out why my idle is so high on my 2007 Honda vtx 1300c. My bike was fine other than needing a carb rebuild. So I pulled the carb myself and cleaned it, reinstalled it and at first attempt, I blew out the oil deal at the transmission shaft because I accidentally hooked up the engine breather hose to a dead end, so it couldn't breathe. So I fixed those issues. Now, I start it up and it idles extremely high. I didn't have this issue before or even when I hooked the breather hose up wrong. Any suggestions??

·
Aging & Worn
4,517 Posts
This'll sound stupid at face value, but let's eliminate the obvious for starters............

Does this particular bike have a manual choke? Is it engaged?

Also, with regard to the Carb.......was it seated in a rubber boot with clamps? If so, are you sure the boot is fully seated?

Let's start there, and move forward.

-Soupy

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
This'll sound stupid at face value, but let's eliminate the obvious for starters............

Does this particular bike have a manual choke? Is it engaged?

Also, with regard to the Carb.......was it seated in a rubber boot with clamps? If so, are you sure the boot is fully seated?

Let's start there, and move forward.

-Soupy

Yes it has a choke. The choke is not engaged. When it is engaged, the idle gets much more higher.
The carb does attach to a boot. I tightened it up when initially installed, but I will double check the boot is still secure.

The bike does have an idle screw. I have the idle set to the lowest it can be adjusted.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Where is the air mixture screw set?