Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
3,160 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
http://classiccycles.org/media//DIR..._1296993/483c729cd55407e6ffff878cffffe41e.pdf
I have a CB550 that I have been messing with for at least 3 years. Just out of being stubborn and wanting to fix it myself and having other bikes to ride is why I did not take it to the shop.The bike has a wiring issue that will stop you dead in your tracks. Turn the key "on'" and the main fuse is toast. Dead short. Oh,if only I could find that bad wire or something a PO did to the bike. The only clues I have is handlebar switches in pieces and they did get hot and are pretty much toast.

Honda wiring has a lot of different colors on their wires and it does not seem to make sense why a run of wiring can change colors so many times. The chart posts the USE of the colored wire Where the wire starts or comes FROM and the place where it does its work, or goes TO. To those who do home wiring,To and From translate roughly to Line and Load. This should also be useful in performing voltage drop testing, which is a sticky worth reading.

Here is how I found my problem. I hooked the battery to ground, but placed a 10 amp fuse inline from the positive post to the main [red] line at the fuse panel. Turned the switch and popped the fuse. The load wireds coming FROM the switch were brown/white stripe which are lighting only and run many places on the bike. The color chart describes uses like running lights,gage lights,tail light, and going to a brown lead [color change] to the tail lights.