Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,
I'm relatively new to motorcycles, but my younger brother left a partially dis-assembled 1973 Honda CB350 at my parents' place when he moved out West a few years ago. I'm attempting to get her back in running condition. The project was going pretty well until the other night. The gas tank and fuel lines have been off of the bike for a couple of years and we're cleaning and painting the tank.
I put a new battery in the bike and re-assembled the hand controls (my brother had planned on swapping the handlebars, but never got around to it.) I replaced a blown bulb in the tail light, and replaced the turn signal relay (the signals weren't flashing). I turned the key and all the electrical worked great! The starter and horn worked, the turn signals were working, and the headlight and taillight were functioning. Then, a few hours later I tried to show my wife what I'd accomplished. I turned the key and... NOTHING! No power to anything. I charged the battery overnight, and still nothing. I replaced the ignition switch, and still nothing. What happened to the electrical system on this bike? What else should I check/replace? I know I'm a newbie, but I'm at a loss on this one.
I was hoping to get the tank and fuel lines back on the bake this weekend and see if we can get her running, but that's not going to happen until we sort out this electrical problem.
Please help.
Thanks.

·
Save them all!
4,278 Posts
I think there is a main fuse located near the battery on that bike, did you check that?

Edit: Reference number 25 - 15A fuse

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I located the fuse. Sure enough, it was blown. I've replaced it and we're back in business! Thanks for the help! :thumbsup:

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #4