Motorcycle Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
There is a lot of discussion about tyres on most motorcycle forums. There are so many opinions about which tires are best. Although I have so many years of riding experience, I have never had reason to think that my tyres are good or bad. I understand all the hype regarding, "it's a very small patch of contact" and so on, but I have never experienced an incident when I have thought that I need different tyres. Reading opinions about tyres I see these type of adjectives used, sticky, excellent, confidence inspiring, better, good choice etc. Without some form of measurement these words have no meaning. Could it be some clever marketing phycology is at work? I'm really asking your opinions on behalf of everyday law-abiding riders.

·
Registered
1,286 Posts
If you ride in a manner that never "pushes" your tires limits, then you should be fine with whatever you are using, i.e. if it's meeting your needs and you haven't found any flaws, then keep on using what has worked!

My most notable experience was when I switched out my stock, bias-ply tires for radials on my Ninja 300. When taking corners at a moderately quick pace, the bias ply tires just felt unstable, like they really did not like what I was asking them to do. I put some semi-decent radials on after the bias tires wore out and they felt much smoother and firm on the pavement.

Here is a good primer for tire differences (and, yes, they are very different) - https://fortnine.ca/en/types-of-motorcycle-tires/

Hope that helps!

Reactions: GatorJoe

·
Registered
781 Posts
If you ride in a manner that never "pushes" your tires limits, then you should be fine with whatever you are using, i.e. if it's meeting your needs and you haven't found any flaws, then keep on using what has worked!