Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So, I will let all of you know before you realize this, I am very new at doing mechanical things on a bike and do not know fully what I'm doing. So please, don't think badly of me :/ I'm getting really confused and kind of frustrated.

Ok. So the other day I traded a guy on craigslist for a beat down (not up), rusty piece of gold (in my own mind) of a 1972 Honda Sl350.

The good:
It has great compression for sitting around forever!
The seat is still intact
The wiring harness (and all the wires >> if that isn't included in wiring harness)
The rust is only top layer stuff, no bad pitting.
the front tube still holds air.
I have the key and I traded the whole thing for a goped :D

The bad:
RUSSSST
No lights or turn signals
The tires are dry rotted
I'm pretty sure it's stuck in gear
clutch cable is worn out
Rustic chain
kick stand kinda looks like a miniature tree trunk o_O (rust, pitting)
No air filters
Wiring is all screwy and idk what goes to what
No battery
Some screws are stripped

The UGLY Dx:
The shift lever isn't there so if it is in gear, its stuck till I get another
There is no front brake lever
There are wires that don't have receptors or ports
and I don't know where to go to find the parts I need.

oh.. and did I mention the gas tank is from an old Kawasaki? << doesn't fit right and won't let the seat sit right.

Can anyone help a poor, 18yr old beginner biker restore his first bike?
All I need is a few directions and help finding all the parts I need, because I've looked and I have very little clue of what I'm doing and I don't want to mess this up :(

Thanks! :D

·
Gone
23,907 Posts
You may need to re-wire just about everything. It's a fairly simple wiring harness, so if you have the schematic on hand, it will help. (Get the service manual as a first step)